World Abaza Congress

22 September 2019
01:25
Keriman Ebrzhnou
The first beauty of the world
I am Circassian, Abaza
The poet Karnik Garmiyan called her "the rose of the country, the beauty of the world", the founder of the modern Turkish state Mustafa Kemal Ataturk ordered everyone to consider her queen, adding to her name the surname Eje ("queen" in Turkish - ed.). However, the beauty, who represented Turkey at the international beauty contest and became the first holder of the title "Queen of the World", Keriman Khalis Eje always knew and never hid that her ancestors were from Abkhazia, and her real name is Ebzhnou.
Originally from Abkhazia
The beauty Keriman was born on February 16, 1913 in a large family of a prosperous merchant Tevfik Khalis Bey. Her mother's name was Ferhunde-Khanym, and there were six children in the family. Both her father and mother were descendants of the Muhadzhirs who were evicted from their native lands on the site of modern Adler after the end of the Caucasian War in 1864 (today these territories are part of Greater Sochi in Russia - ed.).

The family was very musical. Moreover, many of its members were professional musicians. Many instruments were played by grandfather Keriman Hurshit Pasha, a prominent statesman at the sultan's court. Aunt Neveser Kekdesh was a pianist. Uncle Mukhlis Sabahattin - composer. Apparently, the love of music was inherited in this family. Keriman, like many in her family, also played music, having mastered the piano.

According to Makhinur Papba (publicist, a prominent representative of the Abkhaz Diaspora in Turkey – ed.), the name of the father Keriman was Ebzhnou, the mother's name was Chizemuk, in a different pronunciation - Pchyzemuk. By origin these are the Ubykh surnames, but since ancient times their carriers considered themselves Abkhaz.
Keriman herself, as was the case in Turkey for all unmarried girls, did not bear a surname, her name was only attached to her father's name - Keriman Khalis. The surname Eje appeared much later. Ataturk was first to call her this way in 1932 after she returned to Turkey with the title of the world's first beauty. In addition, after 2 years, with the adoption of the law on changing the name, by the order of Mustafa Kemal, the unspoken title became the official name of the beauty.
Keriman Ebrzhnou © foto-history.livejournal.com
Keriman Ebrzhnou © foto-history.livejournal.com
Keriman Ebrzhnou © foto-history.livejournal.com
Beauty's youth
The 20-30s of the twentieth century were the time of the formation of the young Turkish Republic. Everything that led to the Europeanization of the country was welcomed. Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, who dreamed of making Turkey a secular state, fully patronized any attempts to organize beauty contests in the country. The first official review of the beauties was held six years after Ataturk came to power, in 1929. "Turkish girls compete with women of Europe," then foreign newspapers enthusiastically wrote.

Keriman Ebrzhnou
© foto-history.livejournal.com
Since childhood, Keriman was graceful, well-mannered, able to hold herself with great dignity, fluent in Turkish and French. It is not surprising that her father has repeatedly received proposals for a young girl to participate in beauty contests. However, he did not give his consent for a long time. Later, one of the organizers of such contests, Abidin Daver, father's school friend, recalled how, when he saw a young beauty at a ball in Galatasaray, he persuaded Khalis Bey to allow her to take part in the competition. However, Keriman at that time was only seventeen years old; she was in school and, of course, her father refused.
Nevertheless, 2 years later, on July 3, 1932, at that time, nineteen-year-old Keriman Khalis took part in a national beauty contest held under the auspices of the "Jumhuriyet" newspaper and became the first among several dozen contenders, winning the title of the main beauty of Turkey.
Keriman Ebrzhnou first from the right
© foto-history.livejournal.com
Title of queen
Less than a month later, Keriman went to an international beauty contest held in the small Belgian city of Spa. Turkish journalist Baal Nurettin described the beauty of Kariman as follows: "There was one that struck the beauty of everyone, it was Keriman Khalis. Honestly, comparing the beauty of last year with her, I realized that this one takes precedence in everything. Outwardly very attractive, immaculately slim, with delicate skin, very pretty face. Her beautiful black hair, separated by parting, was gathered from the back ... She looked like Goddess Diana. She kept herself very calmly, without twitching, such a "static" beauty."
In Belgium, Keriman did not miss the chance to demonstrate that she represents the Turkish Republic. Therefore, she refused to go to the balcony, where all the beauties went out to greet, until the Turkish flag was hoisted on it. The flag was not there, but she, not flustered, sewed it herself. The hotel workers gave Keriman a large piece of red cloth; her father cut a large crescent and a star and sewed it into fabric.
In the finals of the Belgian competition, the beauty queen was chosen between two participants - a representative of Germany and a representative of Turkey. In one of her interviews, Keriman told that she wore a red satin dress and a white necklace around her neck. The outfit not only beautifully set off the blackness of her eyes and hair, but was also designed in national colors. It was important for the beauty. "When the chairman of the jury spoke my name, I almost lost my senses, and the audience burst into applause and chanted: "Bravo, Miss Turkey!", recalled Eje.
The chairman of the jury, announcing the name of Keriman did not fail to notice: "We choose the Turkish beauty as the "Beauty queen". However, we are raising our glasses to the victory of Europe!", bearing in mind how the eastern beauty looked and presented itself as European. There could not have been a better gift for Ataturk - what he led the country to for many years was done before his eyes.
Keriman's return to Istanbul was a triumph. She was greeted as a national heroine. A crowd of fans was waiting for Eje at the Istanbul station. "When I got out of the car, Turkish officers made my way through so that I could pass through the crowd of people. They shouted, waved flowers and greeted me very warmly," wrote Keriman Khalis in her memoirs.
Turkey's national heroine or Circassian beauty
The first beauty of the world, Keriman, returning home was awarded the highest honors. In her honor, they organized a big celebration in the garden of Taksim. The evening was led by the famous writer Peyamy Safa. Ataturk himself attended the ball in honor of Keriman, with whom the beautiful woman danced the first dance.
Keriman Ebrzhnou
© yenisoz.com.tr
"I will never forget this day," with tears in her eyes years, recalled Keriman later in one of her interviews. - We entered the hall, Ataturk and all the Pasha rose from their seats. I kissed his hand, and he kissed my forehead and said: "I called you Eje (Queen), are you happy?". - I said: "My Pasha, you gave me the world. Thank you!".
However, glorifying Turkey and being the personification of the beauty of Turkish women, Keriman never forgot about her roots and, on occasion, always emphasized it. They say how she corrected a journalist who called her a Turkish beauty, saying that she is a Circassian, an Abaza. Sometimes it even displeased the Turkish authorities, just as during a trip to Cairo, where Keriman met with representatives of the "fraternal union of Circassians". Photo from the meeting hit the press. The article, published in the Egyptian newspaper "Jedid", said "that the Circassian girl was elected the most beautiful girl in the world." This approach did not suit the Turkish authorities: Keriman was a "Turkish beauty" and there should not be a single mentioning of her Circassian origin.
A newspaper clipping with a photograph of Keriman Ebzhnou © medyafaresi.com
Issue of the “Cumhuriyet” newspaper with a photograph of Qeriman on the front page © foto-history.livejournal.com
A newspaper clipping with a photograph of Keriman Ebzhnou © foto-history.livejournal.com
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © yenisoz.com.tr
A newspaper clipping with a photograph of Keriman Ebzhnou © yenisoz.com.tr
A newspaper clipping with a photograph of Keriman Ebzhnou © gecmisgazete.com
After winning the title, Keriman led a rather secluded life, did not like to communicate with journalists, therefore there was not so much information about her after the competition. It is known that the beauty was married twice. Her first husband was a doctor, Orhan Sanus. They had two children - the son Sesai Biltin Sanus and daughter Eje Sanus. The second husband was Hasip Tamer, from whom she had a son, Jenk Tamer. In the house of the youngest son, Keriman lived the last years of her life.
The grandmother of 13 grandchildren, Keriman remained attractive even in her old age, being considered one of the most beautiful women in Turkey. She died in January 2012, one year before reaching her centenary.
The death of the former first beauty of the country, was not overlooked by the Turkish authorities. "We will always remember with reverence Keriman Khalis Eje Tamer, who successfully represented our country abroad and was honored with the Eje surname by the great Turkish reformer, the first President of the Turkish Republic Ataturk," said Turkish President Abdullah Gul on the occasion of the death of the beauty queen.

Keriman was buried in Istanbul, the city where she was born and raised, the city where she became the first beauty in Turkey and where she returned with the title of the most beautiful girl in the world.
Keriman Ebzhnou
© foto-history.livejournal.com

Text by – Arifa Kapba, bild editor – Naala Avidzba, editor-in-chief – Amina Lazba
In the preparation of the essay on Keriman Ebzhnou materials from the personal archive of Mahinur Papba were used.
Made on
Tilda

Всемирный абхазо-абазинский конгресс

15 Октябрь 2019
22:52
Кериман Эбжноу
ПЕРВАЯ КРАСАВИЦА МИРА
я - черкешенка, абаза
Поэт Карник Гармыиан назвал ее «розой страны, красой мира», основатель современного Турецкого государства Мустафа Кемаль Ататюрк приказал всем считать ее королевой, добавив к ее имени фамилию Эдже (в переводе с турецкого «королева» - прим. ред.). Но красавица, представлявшая Турцию на международном конкурсе красоты и ставшая первой обладательницей титула «королева мира», Кериман Халис Эдже всегда знала и никогда не скрывала, что предки ее из Абхазии, а настоящая фамилия Эбжноу.
Родом из Абхазии
Красавица Кериман родилась 16 февраля 1913 года в многодетной семье зажиточного купца Тевфика Халис-бея. Ее мать звали Ферхунде-ханым, а всего в семье было шестеро детей. И отец, и мать Кериман были потомками махаджиров, выселенных после окончания Кавказской войны в 1864 году с родных земель на месте современного Адлера (сегодня эти территории входят в состав Большого Сочи в России – прим. ред.).

Семья была очень музыкальной. Более того, многие ее члены были профессиональными музыкантами. На многих инструментах играл дед Кериман Хуршит-паша, видный государственный деятель при султанском дворе. Тетя Нэвэсер Кекдеш была пианисткой. Дядя Мухлис Сабахаттин – композитором. Видимо, любовь к музыке передавалась в этой семье по наследству. Кериман, как и многие в ее семье, тоже музицировала, освоив фортепиано.

По сведениям Махинур Папба (публицист, видный представитель абхазской диаспоры в Турции– прим. ред.), фамилия отца Кериман была Эбжноу, фамилия матери – Чиземук, в другом произношении – Пщыземук. По происхождению это убыхские фамилии, но уже с давних времен их носители считали себя абхазами.
Сама Кериман, как и полагалось в Турции всем незамужним девушкам, не носила фамилию, к ее имени лишь приставлялось имя отца – Кериман Халис. Фамилия Эдже появилась значительно позже. Впервые ее так назвал Ататюрк в 1932 году после того, как девушка вернулась в Турцию с титулом первой красавицы мира. А спустя 2 года, при принятии закона об изменении фамилии, распоряжением Мустафы Кемаля негласный титул стал официальной фамилией красавицы.
Кериман Эбжноу © foto-history.livejournal.com
Кериман Эбжноу © foto-history.livejournal.com
Кериман Эбжноу © foto-history.livejournal.com
Юность красавицы
20-30-е годы ХХ века были временем становления молодой Турецкой республики. Приветствовалось все, что вело к европеизации страны. Мустафа Кемаль Ататюрк, мечтавший сделать Турцию светским государством, всецело покровительствовал любым попыткам организовать в стране конкурсы красоты. Первый официальный смотр красавиц провели уже через шесть лет после прихода к власти Ататюрка, в 1929 году. «Турецкие девушки соревнуются с женщинами Европы», - восторженно писали тогда иностранные газеты.


Кериман Эбжноу
© foto-history.livejournal.com
Кериман с детства отличалась грациозностью, была хорошо воспитана, умела держаться с большим достоинством, свободно владела турецким и французским. Неудивительно, что ее отцу не раз поступали предложения о том, чтобы юная девушка участвовала в конкурсах красоты. Однако он долго не давал своего согласия. Позже один из устроителей подобных конкурсов Абидин Давер, школьный приятель отца Кериман, вспоминал, как, увидев юную красавицу на балу в Галатасарае, уговаривал Халис-бея разрешить ей принять участие в конкурсе. Но Кериман на тот момент было всего лишь семнадцать лет, она училась в школе и, конечно, отец ответил отказом.

Тем не менее, спустя 2 года, 3 июля 1932 года на тот момент уже девятнадцатилетняя Кериман Халис приняла участие в национальном конкурсе красоты, проходившем под патронажем газеты «Джумхурийет» и стала первой среди нескольких десятков претенденток, завоевав титул главной красавицы Турции.
Первая справа Кериман Эбжноу
© foto-history.livejournal.com
Титул королевы
Менее чем через месяц Кериман отправилась на международный конкурс красоты, проходивший в небольшом бельгийском городе Спа. Турецкий журналист Ваальа Нуреттин так описывал красоту Кериман: «Была одна, которая сразила красотой всех, это была Кериман Халис. Честно говоря, сравнивая красавицу прошлого года с ней, я понимал, что эта во всем берет первенство. Внешне очень привлекательная, безупречно стройная, с нежной кожей, очень миловидным лицом. Ее красивые черные волосы, разделенные пробором, были собраны сзади… Она была похожа на богиню Диану. Держалась очень спокойно, не дергаясь, такая «статичная» красавица».
В Бельгии Кериман не упускала случая продемонстрировать то, что она представляет Турецкую Республику. Так, она отказалась выйти на балкон, куда выходили все красавицы для приветствия, пока на нем не будет поставлен турецкий флаг. Флага не оказалось, но она, не растерявшись, сшила его сама. Работники отеля дали Кериман большой кусок красной материи, ее отец вырезал большой полумесяц и звезду и нашил на ткань.
В финале бельгийского конкурса королеву красоты выбирали между двумя участницами – представительницей Германии и представительницей Турции. Кериман в одном из своих интервью рассказывала, что она надела красное атласное платье, а на шею белое ожерелье. Наряд не только прекрасно оттенял черноту ее глаз и волос, но и был выдержан в национальных цветах. Для красавицы это было важно. «Когда председатель жюри произнес мое имя, я чуть было не лишилась чувств, а зал взорвался аплодисментами и скандировал: «Браво, мисс Турция!», - вспоминала Эдже.
Председатель жюри, объявляя имя Кериман не преминул заметить: «Мы выбираем турецкую красавицу «королевой красоты». Однако свои бокалы мы поднимаем за победу Европы!», - имея в виду то, как по-европейски выглядела и преподносила себя восточная красавица. Лучшего подарка для Ататюрка и быть не могло - то, к чему он вел страну долгие годы, свершалось на его глазах.
Возвращение Кериман в Стамбул было триумфальным. Ее встречали как национальную героиню. На стамбульском вокзале Эдже ожидала толпа поклонников. «Когда я вышла из вагона, турецкие офицеры пробивали мне дорогу, чтобы я могла пройти сквозь толпу людей. Они кричали, размахивали цветами и очень тепло приветствовали меня», - писала Кериман Халис в своих мемуарах.
Национальная героиня Турции или красавица-черкешенка
Вернувшаяся первой красавицей мира Кериман была удостоена самых высших почестей. В ее честь устроили большой праздник в саду Таксим. Вел вечер известный писатель Пеиамы Сафа. На балу в честь Кериман присутствовал и сам Ататюрк, с которым красавица танцевала первый танец.
Кериман Эбжноу
© yenisoz.com.tr
«Я никогда не забуду этот день, - со слезами на глазах спустя годы в одном из интервью вспоминала Кериман. - Мы зашли в зал, Ататюрк и все паши встали со своих мест. Я поцеловала ему руку, а он меня поцеловал в лоб и сказал: «Я назвал тебя Эдже (Королевой), ты счастлива?». - Я ответила: «Мой паша, Вы подарили мне мир. Спасибо!».
Однако, прославляя Турцию и будучи олицетворением красоты турецких женщин, Кериман никогда не забывала о своих корнях и при случае всегда это акцентировала. Рассказывают, как она поправила журналиста, назвавшего ее турецкой красавицей, сказав, что она – черкешенка, абаза. Иногда это даже вызывало недовольство турецких властей, как в случае с поездкой в Каир, где Кериман встретилась с представителями «братского союза черкесов». Фотография со встречи попала в прессу. В материале, опубликованном в египетской газете «Джедида», говорилось, «что черкесская девушка была избрана самой красивой девушкой в мире». Такой подход не устраивал турецкие власти: Кериман была «турецкой красой» и точка, никакого упоминания о ее черкесском происхождении не должно было быть.
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © medyafaresi.com
Номер газеты «Cumhuriyet» c фотографией Кериман на первой полосе © foto-history.livejournal.com
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © foto-history.livejournal.com
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © yenisoz.com.tr
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © yenisoz.com.tr
Вырезка из газеты с фотографией Кериман Эбжноу © gecmisgazete.com
После завоевания титула Кериман вела довольно замкнутую жизнь, не любила общаться с журналистами, потому сведений о ней после конкурса не так уж и много. Известно, что красавица была дважды замужем. Первым ее мужем был врач Орхан Санус. У них было двое детей – сын Сезаи Билтин Санус и дочь Эдже Санус. Вторым мужем был Хасип Тамер, от которого у нее родился сын Дженк Тамер. В доме младшего сына Кериман и жила последние годы своей жизни.
Бабушка 13 внуков, Кериман и в старости оставалась привлекательной, считаясь одной из самых красивых женщин Турции. Умерла она в январе 2012 года, не дожив до своего столетия чуть больше года.
Уход из жизни бывшей первой красавицы страны, не был не замечен турецкими властями. «Мы всегда будем с почтением вспоминать Кериман Халис Эдже Тамер, которая успешно представила нашу страну за рубежом и была удостоена великим турецким реформатором, первым президентом Турецкой республики Ататюрком фамилии Эдже», - заявил по случаю смерти «королевы красоты» президент Турции Абдуллах Гюль.

Похоронена Кериман в Стамбуле – городе, где родилась и выросла, городе, где стала первой красавицей Турции и куда вернулась с титулом самой красивой девушки мира.
Кериман Эбжноу
© foto-history.livejournal.com

Автор текста Арифа Капба, бильд-редактор - Наала Авидзба, главный редактор – Амина Лазба
В подготовке очерка о Кериман Эбжноу использованы материалы из личного архива Махинур Папба.
Made on
Tilda