World Abaza Congress

21 November 2019
07:20
Nestor and Abkhazia
Nestor Apollonovich Lakoba was born in the village of Lykhny on May 1, 1893. His father, the peasant Apollon Lakoba, died three months before the birth of his son: he was killed for a harsh speech at a peasant gathering against the extortion and arbitrariness of princes and nobles. Mother Shahusna Dzhergenia alone raised three sons, with no help and support from the outside. With great difficulty, she managed to send little Chnagua (this was Nestor's name at home) to study at the Novy Afon parish school, after which he entered the Lykhny two-year school. Wherever Nestor studied, he stood out among his peers with his abilities and character.
He was a favorite of schoolmates who worshiped him. There, where games, fun, sonorous songs and impetuous mountain dances were - you could always see a short figure of a boy with lively black eyes and a thick hair of a raven's wing color
writes Mikhail Bgazhba in his book "Nestor Lakoba"
At the age of twelve he entered the Tiflis religious school, but religion was of less interest to him.
The schoolmaster wrote in the reference of "the student Lakoba" that he read "illicit books and is friends with high school students." At the end of the school, Nestor continues his studies at the Theological Seminary, from which he is expelled a year later because of his participation in a secret revolutionary circle. He had to leave Tiflis, and he moved to Batum. Revolutionary ideas still attract the young man. In 1912 Nestor Lakoba joined the ranks of the Bolsheviks of the radical wing of the Russian Social-Democratic Labor Party. After some time Batum police calls the propagandist-Abkhazian for questioning, and Nestor again decides to change his place of residence, choosing this time Grozny, where he enters the Grozny real school. In 1915, after graduating from college, Lakoba tries to continue his studies at the Faculty of Law of Kharkov University, but soon, due to the meager financial possibilities, he gives up the university and returns to his homeland.
In Abkhazia Nestor Lakoba started working on the railway in Gudauta. He remained here in the heart of social life.
The empire was going to pieces: the February Revolution of 1917, the March abdication of Nikolay II from the throne, - by April, popular unrest had reached Abkhazia. At a large meeting of peasants in the meadow of Lykhnashta Nestor Lakoba is elected as the district commissar of Gudauta. A little later, a revolutionary peasant squad "Kiaraz" was created, and Nestor became one of its leaders. From that time until the establishment of Soviet power in 1921, a struggle for power between the Bolsheviks and the Mensheviks developed on the territory of Abkhazia (Georgia was Menshevist-Ed.). The victors were changing. Nestor then had to hide somewhere, he again returned to Abkhazia, and at the end of 1918 he got to Sukhum prison. In 1920, fate again brought him to Batum, where he led an underground revolutionary movement. Here, settling in the house of his friend Adzhar Aki Dzhikh-ogly, he meets his sister, the young beauty Sariya, who was destined to become his wife.
Then they fell in love with each other. She was fifteen (like me) when she ran away with him.
writes Sarya's sister-in-law Adilet Abbas-ogly in the book "I Cannot Forget."
In the lead of Soviet Abkhazia
On March 4, 1921, Soviet power was finally established in Abkhazia. The beloved of the Abkhaz people, Adagua, which means "deaf" in Abkhazian (Nestor did not hear well and therefore wore a special hearing aid, ed.), he returns to Abkhazia, where he becomes not only a ruler but also, at some point, the keeper of his native land.
In February 1922, Nestor Lakoba was elected chairman of the Council of People's Commissars, and from April 1930 he was chairman of the Central Executive Committee of the Abkhaz ASSR. Under the leadership of Lakoba, a revival of the decayed and desolate republic began.
On the example of a small Abkhazia one can see how quickly the Soviet country becomes highly cultured ... The Abkhaz government, under the enlightened leadership of the esteemed Nestor Apollonovich Lakoba, has always shown exceptional attention to science, drawing in every possible way all-Union scientific institutions and creating its scientific research institutes and stations in Soviet Abkhazia
Academician N.I. Vavilov in 1932.
In the sphere of the national economy, Nestor Lakoba did not undertake collectivization
(the policy of the Soviet leadership, when the peasants were deprived of private property (livestock, land) and, by uniting them, created collective farms - colkhoz farms-ed.).
Moreover, taking into account the peculiarities of the Abkhazian way of life, he did not victimize princes and representatives of the upper class and aristocracy, always referring to the fact that in Abkhazia there was no clear stratification of poor peasants and "enslaving" their princes. This policy of Nestor, which was considered fair and for which he was respected among the people, was contrary to the general Soviet plan of transformation and was not liked by everyone - the matter even reached Stalin: the well-wishers formed an anonymous letter, and Nestor had to appear before the leader with an answer. Despite the fact that everything was against the leader of Abkhazia, he made a speech in the Kremlin, which made everyone believe in his rightness. Needless to say, he possessed extraordinary oratorical abilities.
Abkhazians are a few people, and a considerable part of them are princes and nobles in origin, although they often live like ordinary peasants. Virtually no one ever lived in Abkhazia, like a prince, in the full sense of the word. If I had expelled these people, with whom would I have carried out the reforms planned by the Soviet government, who would have protected Abkhazia and created the Abkhaz Republic? They rose to fight against the Georgian Mensheviks. They created guerrilla detachments and stirred up the entire population of Abkhazia.
Adil Abbas-ogly cites his speech in his book, "I Cannot Forget"
Nestor Lakoba (left), Lavrentiy Beria, Agasiy Khandzhyan at the party conference, 1935
© The State Museum of Nestor Lakoba
Сам Лакоба никогда не имел охраны, ходил по городу пешком и был очень прост в общении, что безмерно подкупало всех от мала до велика. Он принимал людей не только на работе, но общался с ними прямо на улице, по дороге домой, прогуливаясь на набережной или даже сидя в кофейне.
Sariya and Nestor Lakoba
© From personal archive of Musto Dzhikhashvili
Nestor was really respected and loved by the people. Moreover, his appearance as a leader was considered something divine.
People were composing legends about him. One of them is described by the historian Ruslan Gozhba. About a shepherd, tending his herd in the high mountain village of Pskhu and hearing the conversation of three prophets who descended from heaven and appointed a certain "Chnagua" among themselves "ruler" of all Abkhazia. Later, this shepherd told what he saw to the sage named Mukba, and he, they say, met a young man who called himself Chnagua, on the way from Eshera to Sukhum, he was Nestor.

Of course, all this is just a legend, but it is firmly entrenched in the people who wanted to believe that Nestor was given to them by the supreme powers. People went to his house, told about their troubles - someone was hurt by people's commissars, someone asked to help starving relatives, and no one left without his attention.
One can get a perception of the peasant identity of Abkhazia in Sukhum only in the reception of the Chairman of the Sovnarkom. To Comrade Lakoba, or, as the peasants simply call him, in the eyes and behind his eyes, to Nestor, they go with all sorts of business, bypassing all instances, in the assurance that he will listen and judge. Chairman of the Sovnarkom of Abkhazia, Comrade Lakoba, enjoys the love of the peasants and the entire population. Comrade Zinoviev (Gregory Zinoviev, Soviet political and state figure - editorial note), when he was in Abkhazia, joked that Abkhazia should be renamed Lakobistan
writes the Russian writer Zinaida Richter in her book "The Caucasus of Our Days" in 1924.
Lakoba and the "isolation" of Trotsky
Without knowing it, Nestor Lakoba played a crucial role in the fate of the Soviet state. In January 1924, Lenin was at death, and struggle for power in the margins of the Kremlin was already burning. Lev Trotsky was one of the likely successors of Lenin as head of state, and his opponents needed to do everything to neutralize politics. Shortly before this, at the request of the doctors, Trotsky, along with his wife, took a train from Moscow to the Caucasus. Simultaneously, at once two prominent party figures - Felix Dzerzhinsky and Sergo Ordzhonikidze - write to Lakoba, unequivocally hinting that he was entrusted with Trotsky's "isolation". "A lot has been, apparently, at stake during this visit of Trotsky to Abkhazia. Or rather, his temporary isolation," Stanislav Lakoba writes, commenting on the entire situation that took shape three days before Lenin's death.
The news that Lenin died, overtook Lev Trotsky in Tiflis.
Upon learning of this, he immediately informed the Kremlin that he was returning to Moscow, but Stalin replied that he did not have time for the funeral, so let him go to Lakoba - Trotsky's health for the party is more important. That he was deceived, Trotsky already found out in Sukhum, visiting Lakoba - Lenin's funeral was postponed for a day, and, having left when he intended, Lev Trotsky would have managed to come to parting with the leader. What happened was very bad for Trotsky's authority in the eyes of the party leadership, which, in fact, Stalin sought.
Lakoba received Lev Davidovich so well that he remained in the "nature-loving country" for two months, immersed in the traditions and culture of the local people.
"Trotsky and Lakoba traveled all over Abkhazia, were frequent guests of the peasants, visited rural gatherings. On one of them in the village of Mokva, Trotsky made a speech. He began it according to all the rules of Abkhazian oratory. His first phrase was a ritual appeal, which he pronounced in Abkhazian: "The people, your hardships to me ...". The people gasped in amazement. For the peasants, this became the main thing in his speech," writes historian Stanislav Lakoba.
Stalin highly appreciated the help of Lakoba in the "isolation" of Trotsky.
"He believed that Nestor contributed to strengthening his position in this difficult transition period," Stanislav Lakoba writes. "This is the mystery of Stalin's so long (almost twelve-year) disposition to Lakoba. On this basis, the leader brought Nestor closer to himself, and as if by accident, he publicly joked: "I am Koba (the party nickname of Joseph Stalin Ed.), And you are Lakoba." .
Koba, Lakoba and Beria
The friendship between Lakoba and Stalin was strengthening year after year. On many occasions Stalin visited Abkhazia and was a frequent visitor in Nestor's home in the village of Lykhny. The leader took the abista from the hands of Sariya, drank the wine of Nestor in small sips, and the host's mother, Shahusna was preparing a meal in the kitchen. Sariya was friendly with Stalin's wife, who singled out her from all "party" wives and even gave her a personal car, one of the first in Abkhazia.
This disposition of the leader to the family of Lakoba was maliciously envied by Lavrenty Beria.
Taking the first steps along the career ladder, he quickly realized that, making friends with Lakoba, he could also reach out to Stalin. Beria even christened Rauf, the son of Nestor and Saria, and became well received in their house. The nomination of Beria took place with the assistance and, it can be said, at the request of Nestor, for it was he who advised Stalin "to nominate this young energetic Chekist for the leading party work." On November 12, 1931 Beria became the second secretary of the Transcaucasian Regional Committee of the AUCP (b) (The All-Union Communist Party (Bolsheviks) ed.) and first secretary CC CP (b) of Georgia (The Central Committee of the Communist Party (Bolsheviks) - ed.).
"Snake with glasses" – they called Beria for his eyes (he wore a pince-nez - ed.), he used all sorts of tricks, tried everything in every way to please the leader and show him that he would not find a dog more loyal.
This manifested itself even in small things. When Stalin, walking through his dacha, half-jokingly suggested that we clean the garden of weeds, it was Beria, having got hold of an ax, with such frenzy, cut down the unfortunate bush, that to all who watched this scene, for a moment it seemed that he chopped not shrubs, but "heads of opponents". This episode is described in some detail by the brother of Saria Musto Dzhikh-ogly in his memoirs. Lavrenty Beria climbed the party ladder higher and higher, and eventually it turned out that Nestor Lakoba, who was originally much closer to Stalin, was in full submission to Beria.
Said "no" to Stalin
: A turning point in the secret struggle between Lakoba and Beria was in 1936. Stalin begins to think about transferring Lakoba to the position of People's Commissar for Internal Affairs in Moscow, inviting him repeatedly to his place, but Lakoba repeatedly rejects this proposal. After another refusal to the leader, he tells his wife: "Why did Stalin offer me such a high post? I will never give consent; even if they threaten me ... My people are still eating aparchpan (abh. - "prickle", Ed.), and I will go to the top?! I will never agree to this." Adil Abbas-ogly writes about this in his book "I Cannot Forget." It was most likely not only that Stalin offered him the bloodiest post of that time, but because Nestor felt that he was being removed from Abkhazia so that Beria could do whatever he wanted there. The idea of "Georgianization" of Abkhazia has long settled in the head of the latter.
And this idea, alas, was not new. Back in 1929, at a meeting of the Transcaucasian Regional Bureau of the Communist Party (Bolsheviks), where all unanimously supported the entry of Abkhazia into Georgia as an autonomous republic, when everything seemed to have been decided, Lakoba was the last to be asked. And he answered: "I heard nothing. The hearing aid does not work well for me." It was considered impossible to repeat everything anew, and the question was postponed for a while, although later it was decided positively.
Nestor Lakoba did not give up hope that the Abkhaz ASSR would leave the Georgian SSR and join the RSFSR directly. With such petitions he was in Moscow more than eighteen times, but was not heard.
"Only over my dead body"
In December 1936, Beria called Lakoba in Tbilisi. The meeting was stormy, they quarreled. According to Professor Stanislav Lakoba, the reason for the quarrel between Lakoba and Beria was the plan to resettle Georgians to Abkhazia, which the latter showed to the leader of Abkhazia, to which Nestor Lakoba said: "Only over my dead body." Without knowing it, he signed himself a verdict.
Commissioning of the Sukhum Port, December 18, 1930
© AGTRK
In the evening of the same day, the mother of Beria began to call the hotel room of Lakoba, then his wife Nina came and persistently invited Nestor to dinner for his favorite dish - fried trout. He came to Beria's house, but he did not touch anything, only drank some cognac and ate a piece of fish. Already after ten minutes he left, feeling bad. He will say only one word in Abkhazian in the car to the driver: Syrshit. (In translation from the Abkhazian "They killed me" - Ed.). On the same evening Nestor Apollonovich was summoned to watch ballet in the Beria's theater box. From there he was taken almost unconscious. At midnight on December 26, Lakoba died in Tbilisi. Later it will be reliably established - he was poisoned with cyanide.
january 1, 1937
The funeral of Nestor Lakoba
© The Abkhazian State Museum
© The Abkhazian State Museum
© The Abkhazian State Museum
With the death of Nestor, began one of the darkest times in the history of Abkhazia – he will be called "public enemy", closest relatives, including the wife Sariya Lakoba and the son Rauf, will perish in the NKVD chambers (the People's Commissariat of Internal Affairs of the USSR - ed.). But even the dead Nestor caused trouble for someone. First, his body will be reburied from the crypt of the Sukhum Botanical Garden to the Mikhailovskoye cemetery, and later a semi-detective story will begin with the remains: according to one version it will be burned in the limestone pit in the Mayak area, according to the other - the wife and mother, after learning that the grave is about to be leveled with the ground, managed to secretly organize a reburial, but showed the burial place to no one. Anyway, Nestor's graves does not exist today.

Author of the text - Arifa Kapba, photo-editor - Naala Avidzba, editor-in-chief - Amina Lazba

Всемирный абхазо-абазинский конгресс

21 Ноябрь 2019
07:18
Нестор и Абхазия
Нестор Аполлонович Лакоба родился в селе Лыхны 1 мая 1893 года. Его отец крестьянин Аполлон Лакоба погиб за три месяца до рождения сына: он был убит за резкое выступление на крестьянском сходе против поборов и произвола со стороны князей и дворян. Мать Шахусна Джергения одна воспитывала троих сыновей, не имея никакой помощи и поддержки со стороны. С большим трудом ей удалось определить маленького Чнагуа (именно так звали Нестора дома) на учебу в Новоафонскую церковно-приходскую школу, после которой он попал в Лыхненскую двухлетнюю школу. Где бы ни учился Нестор, он выделялся среди сверстников своими способностями и характером.
Он был любимцем школьных товарищей, не чаявших в нем души. Там, где игры, веселье, звонкие песни и стремительные горские танцы, - всегда можно было видеть юркую невысокую фигурку мальчика с живыми черными глазами и густой цвета воронова крыла шевелюрой.
пишет Михаил Бгажба в своей книге «Нестор Лакоба»
В двенадцать лет он поступил в Тифлисское
духовное училище, однако религия интересовала его в меньшей степени.
Смотритель училища в отзыве «о воспитаннике Лакоба» писал, что тот читает «недозволенные книги и ведет дружбу со старшеклассниками».По окончании училища Нестор продолжает учебу в Духовной семинарии, из которой его исключают через год из-за участия в тайном революционном кружке. Из Тифлиса надо было уехать, и он перебирается в Батум. Революционные идеи по-прежнему привлекают молодого человека. В 1912 году Нестор Лакоба вступает в ряды большевиков радикального крыла Российской социал-демократической рабочей партии. Спустя некоторое время батумская полиция вызывает пропагандиста-абхаза на допрос, и Нестор снова решает сменить место жительства, выбрав на этот раз Грозный, где поступает в Грозненское реальное училище. В 1915 году, окончив училище, Лакоба пытается продолжить учебу на юридическом факультете Харьковского университета, но вскоре, из-за скудных финансовых возможностей, бросает университет и возвращается на родину.
В Абхазии Нестор Лакоба начал работать на железной дороге в Гудауте. Он и здесь оставался в самой гуще общественной жизни.
Империя трещала по швам: февральская революция 1917 года, мартовское отречение Николая II от престола, - к апрелю народные волнения докатились до Абхазии. На большом собрании крестьян на поляне Лыхнашта Нестора Лакоба избирают участковым комиссаром Гудауты. Чуть позже создается революционная крестьянская дружина «Киараз», и Нестор становится одним из ее руководителей. С этого времени вплоть до установления советской власти в 1921 году на территории Абхазии развернулась борьба за власть между большевиками и меньшевиками (Грузия была меньшевистской – прим. ред.). Верх одерживали то одни, то другие. Нестору то приходилось где-то скрываться, то он вновь возвращался в Абхазию, а в конце 1918 года и вовсе попал в сухумскую тюрьму. В 1920 году судьба снова занесла его в Батум, где он возглавил подпольное революционное движение. Здесь же, поселившись в доме своего друга аджарца Аки Джих-оглы, он знакомится с его сестрой, юной красавицей Сарией, которой суждено было стать его женой.
Тогда они с Сарией и полюбили друг друга. Ей было пятнадцать (как и мне), когда она убежала с ним.
пишет невестка Сарии Адиле Аббас-оглы в книге «Не могу забыть»
4 марта 1921 года
Во главе Советской Абхазии
в Абхазии окончательно была установлена советская власть. Любимый абхазским народом Адагуа, что в переводе с абхазского значит «глухой» (Нестор плохо слышал и потому носил специальный слуховой аппарат – прим. ред.), возвращается в Абхазию, где становится не только правителем, но и в каком-то смысле хранителем родного края.
В феврале 1922 года Нестора Лакоба избирают председателем Совета Народных Комиссаров, а с апреля 1930 года он – председатель Центрального Исполнительного Комитета Абхазской АССР. Под руководством Лакоба началось возрождение пришедшей в упадок и запустение республики.
На примере маленькой Абхазии можно видеть, как быстро советская страна становится высококультурной... Абхазское правительство под просвещенным руководством уважаемого Нестора Аполлоновича Лакоба всегда проявляло исключительное внимание к науке, всемерно привлекая всесоюзные научные учреждения и создавая свои научные исследовательские институты и станции в советской Абхазии.
говорил академик Н.И. Вавилов в 1932 году
В сфере народного хозяйства Нестор Лакоба не стал проводить коллективизацию
(политика советского руководства, когда у крестьян отбирали частную собственность (скот, землю) и, объединяя их, создавали коллективные хозяйства – колхозы – прим. ред.).
Кроме того, учитывая особенности абхазского уклада жизни, он не преследовал князей и представителей высшего сословия и аристократии, всегда ссылаясь на то, что в Абхазии не было четкого расслоения на бедных крестьян и «порабощавших» их князей. Эта политика Нестора, которую считали справедливой и за которую его уважали в народе, шла вразрез со всеобщим советским планом преобразований и нравилась далеко не всем – дело даже дошло до Сталина: доброжелатели составили «анонимку», и Нестору пришлось предстать перед вождем с ответом. Несмотря на то, что все было против руководителя Абхазии, в Кремле он произнес речь, которая заставила поверить всех присутствующих в его правоту. Что и говорить, ораторскими способностями он обладал необыкновенными.
Абхазы - немногочисленный народ, и немалую его часть составляют князья и дворяне по происхождению, хотя и живут они нередко, как простые крестьяне. Практически никто и никогда не жил в Абхазии, как князь, в полном смысле этого слова. Если бы я выслал этих людей, с кем бы тогда я проводил намеченные советской властью преобразования, кто защитил бы Абхазию и создал Абхазскую Республику? Это они поднялись на борьбу против грузинских меньшевиков. Это они создали партизанские отряды и всколыхнули все население Абхазии.
Речь Нестора Лакоба из книги Адиле Аббас-оглы «Не могу забыть»
Нестор Лакоба (слева), Лаврентий Берия, Агасий Ханджян на партийной конференции, 1935 год
© Государственный музей Нестора Лакоба
Сам Лакоба никогда не имел охраны, ходил по городу пешком и был очень прост в общении, что безмерно подкупало всех от мала до велика. Он принимал людей не только на работе, но общался с ними прямо на улице, по дороге домой, прогуливаясь на набережной или даже сидя в кофейне.
Сария и Нестор Лакоба
© Из личного архива Мусто Джихашвили
Нестора действительно уважали и любили в народе. Более того, его появление как лидера считали чем-то божественным.
Слагали легенды о нем. Одну из них описывает историк Руслан Гожба. О пастухе, пасшем свои стада в высокогорном селе Псху и услышавшем разговор трех пророков, спустившихся с небес и назначивших между собой «правителем» всей Абхазии некоего Чнагуа. Позже этот пастух рассказал об увиденном мудрецу по фамилии Мукба, а он, дескать, встретил юношу, назвавшегося Чнагуа, на пути из Эшеры в Сухум, тот и был Нестор.

Конечно, все это лишь легенда, но она прочно закрепилась в народе, который хотел верить, что Нестор был им дарован всевышними силами. Люди ходили к нему в дом, рассказывали о своих бедах – кого-то обижали наркомы (народные комиссары), кто-то просил помочь голодающим родственникам, и никто не уходил без его внимания.
В Сухуме только в приемной предсовнаркома можно получить представление о крестьянской самобытной Абхазии. К товарищу Лакоба, или, как его попросту крестьяне называют в глаза и за глаза, к Нестору, идут со всяким делом, минуя все инстанции, в уверенности, что он выслушает и рассудит. Предсовнаркома Абхазии товарищ Лакоба пользуется любовью крестьян и всего населения. Товарищ Зиновьев (Григорий Зиновьев, советский политический и государственный деятель - прим. ред.), когда был в Абхазии, пошутил, что Абхазию следовало бы переименовать в Лакобистан.
Так пишет о нем русская писательница Зинаида Рихтер в своей книге «Кавказ наших дней» в 1924 году
Январь 1924 года
Лакоба и «изоляция» Троцкого
Ленин находился при смерти, а в кулуарах Кремля в это время уже кипела борьба за власть. Лев Троцкий был одним из вероятных преемников Ленина на посту руководителя государства, и его противникам нужно было сделать все, чтобы нейтрализовать политика. Незадолго до этого по требованию врачей Троцкий вместе с женой отправились на поезде из Москвы на Кавказ. Одновременно с этим сразу два видных партийных деятеля – Феликс Дзержинский и Серго Орджоникидзе – пишут Лакоба, недвусмысленно намекая, что ему поручена «изоляция» Троцкого. «Очень многое, видимо, было поставлено на этот визит Троцкого в Абхазию. Вернее, на его временную изоляцию», - пишет Станислав Лакоба, комментируя всю эту ситуацию, которая сложилась за три дня до смерти Ленина.
Весть о том, что Ленин умер, застигла Льва Троцкого в Тифлисе.
Узнав об этом, он, сразу же сообщил в Кремль, что возвращается в Москву, но Сталин ответил, что к похоронам он, дескать, все равно не успеет, а потому пускай едет к Лакоба – здоровье Троцкого для партии важнее. О том, что его обманули, Троцкий узнал уже в Сухуме, в гостях у Лакоба – похороны Ленина отложили на день, и, выехав тогда, когда он намеревался, Лев Троцкий успел бы прибыть к прощанию с вождем. Случившееся сильно уронило авторитет Троцкого в глазах партийного руководства, чего, собственно, и добивался Сталин.
Лакоба же так хорошо принял Льва Давидовича, что тот остался в «обласканной природой стране» на два месяца, погрузившись в традиции и культуру местного народа.
«Троцкий и Лакоба исколесили всю Абхазию, были частыми гостями крестьян, посещали сельские сходы. На одном из них в селе Моква Троцкий произнес речь. Он начал ее по всем правилам абхазского ораторского искусства. Первой его фразой было ритуальное обращение, которое он произнес по-абхазски: «Народ, ваши невзгоды мне...». Народ ахнул от изумления. Для крестьян это стало главным в его речи», - пишет историк Станислав Лакоба.
Сталин высоко оценил помощь Лакобы в деле «изоляции» Троцкого.
«Он считал, что Нестор содействовал укреплению его позиций в этот сложный переходный период, - пишет Станислав Лакоба, - Именно в этом кроется загадка столь долгой (почти двенадцатилетней) расположенности Сталина к Лакоба. На этой основе вождь приблизил к себе Нестора и как бы невзначай, во всеуслышание пошутил: Я – Коба (партийная кличка Иосифа Сталина – прим. ред.), а ты - Лакоба.
Дружба Лакоба со Сталиным крепла из года в год
Коба, Лакоба и Берия
Неоднократно Сталин приезжал на отдых в Абхазию и был частым гостем в родном доме Нестора в селе Лыхны. Вождь принимал абысту из рук Сарии, пил вино Нестора маленькими глотками, а готовила трапезу на кухне мать хозяина – Шахусна. Сария была дружна с женой Сталина, который особо выделял ее из всех «партийных» жен и даже подарил ей личный автомобиль, один из первых в Абхазии.
Такому расположению вождя к семье Лакоба злостно завидовал Лаврентий Берия.
Делавший первые шаги по карьерной партийной лестнице, он быстро понял, что, подружившись с Лакоба, сможет выйти и на Сталина. Берия даже крестил Рауфа – сына Нестора и Сарии – и стал вхож в их дом. Выдвижение Берии произошло при содействии и, можно сказать, по ходатайству Нестора, ведь именно он посоветовал Сталину «выдвинуть на руководящую партийную работу этого молодого энергичного чекиста». 12 ноября 1931 года Берия стал вторым секретарем Закавказского крайкома ВКП(б) (Всесоюзная коммунистическая партия (большевиков) прим. ред.) и первым секретарем ЦК КП(б) Грузии (Центральный комитет Коммунистической партии (большевиков) - прим. ред.).
«Очкастый змей», как называли за глаза Берию (он носил пенсне – прим. ред.), пускал в ход любые уловки, всеми способами пытался угодить, услужить вождю и показать ему, что вернее пса он не найдет.
Это проявлялось даже в мелочах. Когда Сталин, прогуливаясь по своей даче, полушутя предложил очистить сад от сорняков, именно Берия, заполучив в руки топор, с таким остервенением вырубил несчастный куст, что всем наблюдавшим эту сцену, на миг показалось, что рубил он вовсе не кустарники, а «головы противников». Этот эпизод довольно подробно описывает брат Сарии Мусто Джих-оглы в своих воспоминаниях. Лаврентий Берия поднимался по партийной лестнице все выше и выше, и в итоге получилось, что Нестор Лакоба, который изначально был куда ближе к Сталину, оказался в полном подчинении у Берии.
Переломным годом в негласной борьбе между Лакоба и Берия стал 1936 год.
Сказал Сталину «нет»
Сталин начинает задумываться о том, чтобы перевести Лакоба на должность наркома внутренних дел в Москву, многократно приглашает его к себе, но Лакоба раз за разом это предложение отклоняет. После очередного отказа вождю он говорит своей супруге: «Зачем Сталин предложил мне такой высокий пост? Я никогда не дам согласия, даже если мне будут угрожать… Мой народ еще апарчман (абх. – «колючка – прим. ред.) кушает, а я полезу в верха?! Никогда не соглашусь на это». Об этом пишет Адиле Аббас-оглы в книге «Не могу забыть». Дело было, скорее всего, не только в том, что Сталин предлагал ему занять самую кровавую должность того времени, а потому что Нестор чувствовал: его пытаются убрать из Абхазии, чтобы Берия мог творить тут все, что захочет. Идея о «грузинизации» Абхазии давно засела в голове последнего.
И мысль эта, увы, не была нова. Еще в 1929 году на заседании Закавказского краевого бюро КП (б), где все единодушно высказались за вхождение Абхазии в состав Грузии в качестве автономной республики, когда все казалось уже решенным, последним спросили Лакоба. И он ответил: «А я ничего не слышал. Слуховой аппарат у меня плохо работает». Повторять все заново сочли невозможным, и вопрос на время был отложен, хотя позже его решили положительно.
Нестор Лакоба не оставлял надежду, что Абхазская АССР выйдет из Грузинской ССР и войдет в состав РСФСР напрямую. С такими ходатайствами он был в Москве более восемнадцати раз, но услышан не был.
Декабрь 1936 года
«Только через мой труп»
Берия вызвал Лакоба в Тбилиси. Встреча была бурной, они крупно поссорились. По мнению профессора Станислава Лакоба, причиной ссоры между Лакоба и Берия стал план по переселению грузин в Абхазию, который последний показал руководителю Абхазии, на что Нестор Лакоба сказал: «Только через мой труп». Сам того не ведая, он подписал себе приговор.
Сдача в эксплуатацию Сухумского порта,
18 декабря 1930 года
© АГТРК
Вечером этого же дня в гостиничный номер Лакоба стала звонить мать Берия, затем пришла его жена Нина и настойчиво приглашала Нестора на ужин отведать его любимое блюдо – жареную форель. В дом к Берии он пришел, но почти ни к чему из еды не притронулся, лишь выпил немного коньяку и съел кусочек рыбы. Уже минут через десять ушел, почувствовав себя дурно. В машине шоферу он скажет по-абхазски лишь одно слово: Сыршьит. (в переводе с абхазского «убили» - прим. ред.). В этот же вечер Нестора Аполлоновича вызвали в театральную ложу Берия на балет. Оттуда его увезли почти без чувств. В полночь 26 декабря Лакоба скончался в Тбилиси. Позже будет достоверно установлено – его отравили цианистым калием.
1 января 1937 года
Похороны Нестора Лакоба
© Абхазский Государственный Музей
© Абхазский Государственный Музей
© Абхазский Государственный Музей
Со смертью Нестора началась одна из самых темных полос в истории Абхазии – его назовут «врагом народа», ближайшие родственники, в том числе жена Сария Лакоба и сын Рауф погибнут в застенках НКВД (Народного комиссариата внутренних дел СССР – прим. ред.). Но даже мертвый Нестор кому-то мешал. Сначала его тело из склепа сухумского Ботанического сада перезахоронят на Михайловском кладбище, а позже с останками и вовсе начнется полудетективная история: по одной версии их сожгут в известковой яме в районе Маяка, по другой – жена с матерью, узнав о том, что могилу собираются сравнять с землей, сумеют втайне организовать перезахоронение, но место погребения никому не покажут. Как бы то ни было, могилы Нестора сегодня не существует.

Автор текста Арифа Капба, бильд-редактор - Наала Авидзба, главный редактор – Амина Лазба